BitFenix Prodigy M, Virtual Routers and More…

 

 

It’s been a while since I posted an updated on my blog.  Since the new year life has been a little hectic.  I think I managed to forget how much work was actually involved in exam season at universities and the workload this semester along with family-life and trying to finish a software project I’ve been working on as well has certainly kept me a little busy.  I haven’t had much time to fully document everything that goes along with my blog posts but I did think I’d write a quick update.

If you haven’t already checked it out then there are three new videos I’ve done since I last posted.  It started with me deciding to use my Christmas money to build a shiny new PC and out came a new virtual machine host.  It’s built around a BitFenix Prodigy M case running a mini-ITX board with 2 Celeron cores and 8GB of RAM.

It’s not exactly the most beefy of builts but it’s been surprisingly good.  I’m running my main router (using OPNsense) for my house from it with the VMs running on the iSCSI host I built last month.  In addition to the router it’s also running a domain controller and a couple of other small Linux VMs all without a sweat.  Sure, none of the workload is killer on a home network but considering it’s only a few watts of power I’m pretty stoked.

The other cool thing on this build was I created my own custom PSU enclosure for a NanoPSU.  By enclosing the NanoPSU and some converter cables in corex plastic it mounts perfectly inside a PC case and hides the otherwise nasty mess of cables.

If you’re interested in checking out this build in detail, how I configured everything or a review of the case itself then check out the videos below – unfortunately I’m too pushed for time at the moment to document it here but it was an enjoyable project.

The next big build will be once I’ve moved house next month and got everything up and running again.  I’m going to try and build a once powerful 12 core Opteron inside the cheapest PC case with LED fans that I could find and see how well it goes down (I don’t have high hopes).

If you wondered, yes, that is my Christmas pyjama top in the second thumbnail…

Leave a Reply

