Resizing a Mac OS Disk after Resizing VMWare Disk

I was doing some work on my ESX and setting up the Mac OS server that I started work on months ago. In the process of setting it up as a LAN software update server the disk ran out of space and needed increasing.

After increasing the volume size in ESX MacOS didn’t detect the change so I had to reboot. After the reboot I loaded disk utility to increase the size and got “Partition failed with the error: MediaKit reports partition (map) too small” which stopped me in my tracks.

A quick Google returned that this was because the GPT partition map was the disk’s original size (120GB). In essence this meant even though the disk now reported a larger amount of space the partition table didn’t know what to do with it.

The solution was a scary one but worth a try as I didn’t fancy reinstalling everything from scratch – blowing the partition table in full and re-creating it.

Just incase this failed my first step was to power off the VM and take a snapshot with ESX.

Once the snapshot was taken I attached the ISO of my MacOS installation media and edited the VM properties. I selected “Options” and checked the Force EFI setup option. This ensures that the EFI boot menu is entered prior to starting MacOS – the only way I manage to actually select boot media on my VM since the “Option” key press seems to get missed somewhere between my Mac desktop and ESX vSphere Client running in a Windows VM.

Resizing Primary Mac Partition - Boot to EFI

Once OKing out of everything and the VMWare showing as successfully reconfigured I rebooted the server and chose to boot from my VMWare CD in the EFI. You need to do this as you cannot edit the disk when it is mounted and I was editing the primary boot drive. If you are editing a secondary disk you could do all the remaining steps whilst the server was booted.

Resizing Primary Mac Partition - Boot Manager 1 Resizing Primary Mac Partition - Boot Manager 2 Resizing Primary Mac Partition - Booting Recovery

Once the installation media loaded I selected to run the terminal.

Resizing Primary Mac Partition - Start Terminal

The first step is to unmount your disk. In the case of your primary disk this is /dev/disk1 – but if you’re operating on another disk you can do this by running the mount command and seeing where your disk as below.

Resizing Primary Mac Partition - Mount Output

For each partition on the disk you’re going to change you need to unmount it or the partition management tool will complain. Do this with:

unmount /dev/diskXsY

Where diskXSY is the partition name shown in the output from mount. I had a weird issue where it kept occasionally remounting my primary partition automatically. I just kept re-running my unmount commands if I got an error that the disk was in-use then continuing. This may be more annoying with more than one partition.

The next step is to see your existing partition table. I highly suggest taking a screenshot of this. Run the gpt command against your drive (for all remaining purposes I’m assuming you just have /dev/disk1 as I did):

got show /dev/disk1

The output will be similar to below. The strange part was that I saw 3 partitions whereas I was only aware of 1. Each of the partitions show as “GPT Part” and have an index next to them representing /dev/disk1s1, /dev/disk1s2 and /dev/disk1s3. The GUID after GPT Part indicates the type of file system. In my case slice 1 was EFI, slice 2 MacOS and slice 3 was the Apple Boot Partition.

Resizing Primary Mac Partition - Show Existing Partitions

I didn’t realise this at first and just tried to re-create everything. This somehow booted with EFI labelled as HFS and the recovery partition deleted. In my case I just re-did the partition table again to create slice 1 correctly and didn’t bother with the recovery partition as I can do an internet recovery if needed. Currently the only known method I can find in Yosemite requires a reinstall and I couldn’t be bothered to use the snapshot for this. The below commands assume I knew what I was doing first time.

# Destroy existing GPT
gpt destroy /dev/disk1

# Create a new and empty GPT
gpt create -f /dev/disk1

# Re-create slice 1 (EFI)
gpt add -b 40 -s 409600 -t C12A7328-F81F-11D2-BA4B-00A0C93EC93B /dev/disk1

# Re-create slice 2 (MacOS)
gpt add -b 409640 -s 249979024 -t 48465300-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC /dev/disk1

# Re-create slice 3 (Recovery Partition - Oops!)
got add -b 250388664 -s 1269536 -t 426F6F74-0000-11AA-AA11-00306543ECAC /dev/disk1

At this point you should be told /dev/disk1s1, /dev/disk1s2 and /dev/disk1s3 have been created. If you get disk is in use errors then unmount any re-mounted partitions. I made a typo and accidentally created /dev/disk1 at 10x the size it was supposed to be. If you do that just start again with a get destroy and carry on.

Performing another gpt show will hopefully detail exactly the same as you started with for your GPT slices.

Resizing Primary Mac Partition - Final Partitions

Now you’re done here you can quit the terminal, start Disk Utility and resize your partition as normal. Hey presto – no more errors and you can resize your virtual drive. The same method applies to any version of OS X and you don’t even need to boot off an OS X install CD for your current version – I used a Mountain Lion ISO with Yosemite.

Leave a Reply

